Nigel Clarke: Mysteries of the Horizon


1. Dial ‘H’ for Hitchcock (Nigel Clarke: 2016 revised 2019)

2. Swift Severn’s Flood (Nigel Clarke: 2009)

3. Mysteries of the Horizon (Nigel Clarke: 2012)
i. The Menaced Assassin
ii. The Dominion of Light
iii. The Flavour of Tears
iv. The Discovery of Fire

7. Earthrise (Nigel Clarke: 2010)

Grimethorpe Colliery Band
Conductors: Nigel Clarke, David Thornton, Sandy Smith
Soloist: Harmen Vanhoorne
Naxos Recordings: 8.574097



Nigel Clarke has always been fascinated by virtuosity and timbre – it is the brass band genre that has lent itself most to his passion for musical athleticism. Dial ‘H’ for Hitchcock is an imaginary film score in the film noir vein, complete with classic and chilling sound effects, while the heroic, brooding and violent Swift Severn’s Flood was inspired by a line from Shakespeare. Cornet concerto Mysteries of the Horizon examines the atmosphere of paintings by René Magritte, and Earthrise celebrates one of the most iconic photographs in history and the drama of the Apollo 8 mission.